Transformational EMDR Therapy Training Learning Objectives

Transformational EMDR A Death-Rebirth Sequence in Six Stages Accelerated by EMDR therapy

In this course the trainees will learn:

  1. To identify the Transformational Negative Core Belief and create an environment for this belief to shift to its adaptive counterpart by using EMDR therapy.


  1. To understand the difference between symptom resolution work versus transformational work.


  1. To discuss and understand the research, history and discovery of this six-stage process and how it transforms the association between core schemas and maladaptive behavior. Additionally, to understand the impact to the individual who often acts from a position of misperception caused by the problematic maladaptive schema.


  1. To understand and practice EMDR therapy using the transformational belief to repair the maladaptive core schema and its misperceptions, thus creating an adaptive schema resulting in more accurate perceptions of self, situations, and


  1. To understand and practice how to develop the transformational timeline vs. a trauma timeline in Phase I.


  1. Understand that the six-stage transformational process requires complete fidelity to the EMDR therapy model: The transformational cognitions requires the Eight-Phase treatment model, the three-pronged approach, and fidelity to the eight-step protocol.


  1. To understand and be prepared to help manage client challenges as they move through this six-stage process.


  1. To understand what the common patterns that guide the therapist to predictable targets in each stage and in each of EMDR’s three-prongs. (i.e., past, present and future targeting).


  1. To understand how to identify the transformational cognitions from the timeline. They are most frequently, but not always, I don’t matter and I’m not good enough.


  1. To discuss, demonstrate and apply the anatomy of dreams for interpretation in this six-stage


  1. To understand what dream themes occur in each transformational stage: (i.e., to normalize nightmares in stage 3). Each stage has its specific dream themes.


  1. To recognize significant images, and the unconscious language described by C. G. Jung as new data to decide what to “go with…” from this new transformational perspective.


  1. To become aware of the issues that can arise when the negative core belief is completely dismantled replaced by the authentic adaptive core.

1515 US HWY 1; Suite 201
Sebastian, FL 32958

Have Questions?
Send a Message!